2017 ShanghaiTech Workshop on Emerging Devices, Circuits and Systems 

2017 ShanghaiTech Workshop on Emerging Devices, Circuits and Systems (SWEDCS’2017)

SWEDCS'2017 is a forum to gather world-class experts in emerging devices, circuits and systems. It is organized and sponsored by the School of Information Science and Technology (SIST) at ShanghaiTech University. ShanghaiTech university is jointly founded by Shanghai Municipal Government and Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) in 2013, and aims to be a top world-class academic research institution.

This year, the workshop focuses on the “Intelligent Hardware”. Today, data-driven and artificial intelligence enabled computing is dramatically changing our way of living and creating both opportunities and challenges for modern computing devices and systems. This workshop gathers the most renowned researchers in the world to exchange the recent development in intelligent hardware from different perspectives:

1) Application-driven computing platforms for driverless car, robotics, natural language processing (NLP) and so on;
2) Progress in silicon-based devices, semiconductor optoelectronics, power electronics and circuits to enable intelligent hardware;
3) Architectures and design methodologies and tools in deep learning, neuromorphic computing and so on.

We also welcome other related topics that are not in the list above.

The audience will mostly be young faculty members, post-doctoral researchers, graduate students, and final year undergraduate students in related fields from China and the Asian Pacific region.

Views of ShanghaiTech

... ...
... ...

Views of Shanghai

... ...
... ...

Important Dates and Location

  • Registration : April 1, 2017- June 15, 2017
  • Notification Date:June 20, 2017
  • Workshop: July 07-08, 2017
  • Location: Auditorium, ShanghaiTech University, 393 Middle Huaxia Road, Pudong, Shanghai, 201210

    • Distinguished Speakers

      Yiming Huai
      VP of Avalanche Technology

      Alberto L. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli
      Professor, The Edgar L. and Harold H. Buttner Chair of EECS

      Member of the US National Academy of Engineering

      Fellow of ACM

      Fellow of IEEE

      Alwyn Seeds
      Head of Department and Professor of Opto-Electronics, University College London

      Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering

      Fellow of IEEE

      Steve Trimberger
      ‎Fellow at Xilinx Inc.

      Member of the US National Academy of Engineering

      Fellow of ACM

      Fellow of IEEE

      Kang Wang
      Distinguished Professor and Raytheon Chair in Electrical Engineering, UCLA

      Fellow of IEEE

      Invited Speakers

      Deming Chen
      Professor, Donald Biggar Willett Faculty Scholar
      NSF CAREER Award (2008)

      ACM SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award (2010)
      IBM Faculty Award (2014/2015)

      Yiran Chen
      Associate Professor of Duke University

      NSF CAREER Award (2013)

      ACM SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award (2014)

      Kiyoung Choi
      Professor of Seoul National University

      Fellow of the IEEE

      Shu-hung (Henry) Chung
      Assistant Department Head and Professor of City University, Hongkong

      Fellow of the IEEE

      Songbin Gong
      Assistant Professor of University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

      DARPA Young Faculty Award (2014)

      Frédéric Grillot
      Professor of Télécom ParisTech

      Yinhe Han
      Professor of Institute of Computing, Chinese Academy of Sciences

      Chair of Young Computer Scientists & Engineers Forum(YOCSEF), China Computer Federation(CCF),2016-2017

      Yong-Zhen Huang
      Professor of Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences

      Fadi J. Kurdahi
      Professor of University of California at Irvine

      Fellow of the IEEE

      Jih-Sheng (Jason) Lai
      Professor of Virginia Tech University

      Fellow of the IEEE

      Fan-Yi Lin
      Professor of National Tsinghua University

      Chengbin Ma
      Associate Professor of University of Michigan - Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute

      Hiroo Sekiya
      Professor of Chiba University

      Former Chair of The Power and Energy Circuits and Systems Technical Committee and Nonlear Circuits and Systems Techninal Commuttee, IEEE CAS Society

      Yu Wang
      Associate Professor of Tsinghua University

      Shimeng Yu
      Assistant Professor of Arizona State University

      NSF Faculty Early CAREER Award (2016)